The Rest


Psalm 127:2 ESV

It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.

pool bliss

Poolside bliss

Mark 6:31 ESV

And he said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while.” For many were coming and going, and they had no leisure even to eat.

Proverbs 3:24 ESV

If you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.

 God’s Word gives us the best perspective on rest.  So why do we find it so hard to take a break?  Could it be our ‘work hard’ and ‘get-it-done’ upbringing?  I really think so. 

It also stems from our personal goal-setting – being counted and accepted as achievers in life.  When you run yourself down towards empty.  At that point, I make tons of mistakes, my handwriting is illegible and my patience rather thin!

The likely next step is catching the latest cold or flu, even a tummy bug.  Then before you know it, you are calling in sick and wish you took every chance to rest!  So why do I do it?  Guilt.  I guilt myself into slaving away at meaningless tasks and keeping busy, that is, until I drop into bed – late at night, then start the cycle again!

This week, I really learned my lesson!  it all started two weeks ago, when I called in at the clinic, feeling really unwell.  A young male doctor sent me home with a large dose of medication and I lay in bed for the rest of the day, shocked at the diagnosis.  I was so upset, I actually wept.  I got worse over the weekend and decided to seek another opinion, as my ankles swelled up and fatigue kept me inactive.

In the process, we lost power every single day from sundown to ten at night. No news or light entertainment.  Lots of candle light suppers and family chit-chat.  Feet up, I took plenty of rest!

Every evening I took in the horrific sight of my slightly swollen ankles, then in pure frustration, I called my health insurance and sought out another doctor for a second opinion.  I went in yesterday, bright and ready for the likely diagnosis of a weak heart or kidney or both!  Staying in prayer, I strode in and the doctor, a childhood friend asked if I was visiting.  Within minutes, the results were out – the medication was the cause of my unsightly ankles. 

Armed with new tablets and a new lease on life, I left, thanking and praising God out of pure relief, took my tablets as soon as I got home and went to bed (okay) a little late.

This morning, I woke up to a new lease of life.  Slim ankles, fresh face and clear eyes.   More energy, a sense of purposeful rest and more relief.  Determined to enjoy my rest more than ever and reminded, I do not have to do it alone – my husband loves to help and I enjoy the two of us working side by side.

I thank God for rest and so should you!

I am off for now but coming soon – great holiday breaks and ideas!

