Are you hurting?


Are you hurting? 
  
Romans 12:19 ESV

Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.”

Ephesians 4:32 ESV
Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

Matthew 5:44 ESV
But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.

 
God’s Word and my flesh do mot seem to be in harmony in this area! That prompts me to evaluate my response. 

If and when another person huts mr, I have the immediate need to vent my frustration. Then I want to reassess what has been said and get to the root of the hurt. 

A few months ago, someone I believed to be a friend spoke a litany of untruths about my daughter and I to a wide audience at various venues. 
The entire episode was so hurtful that I asked God to release me from attending our Church. I love our Church more than any other on earth! And I have been to many!
The direct result was a fallout of about fifteen women over nineteen weeks. 

This morning, one of the ladies I trust communicated in a way that brought all that pain and hurt flooding back. Old wounds are such a mess if not treated right!

As a result of that, I am making a firm decision to call people out on their actions and attending to issues sooner rather than later! 
I thank God for walking me through this phase and allowing to learn hard truths and facts for myself. 

No one has the right or power to bring or cause damage to us in any shape or form. A follower of Christ continues to face challenges but is not subject to pointless suffering. Could this be the unattractive and weak Gospel some of sell to the world?  How does Jesus Christ view this?
I shudder at the thought of playing martyrdom as I lose my faith foundation. Could this be the reason why we have faith ‘oceans wide but inches deep’? 

Penning off for prayer and worship,
MK

