Us versus Them


Question:  How does a Christian firing squad stand in formation?

Answer:  In a circle!

Ouch!  Okay, I agree, that’s a bit harsh!  Then again, I remember conversations with my unbelieving friends in High School and their constant dismay at warring Christians.  I attended Catholic school for most of my schooling.  It took years to convince my non-Evangelical friends that I personally had no fight with other Christian individuals.  At the time, Sinn Fein and the IRA battled, continuing sectarian violence in Northern Ireland.  After all the wars we have fought, as mankind, there is the constant struggle with varying doctrines that have driven is to degrees of competition and disunity that shock followers of other faiths.

Image

We either create, allow for or ignore situations where our brothers and sisters suffer social injustices.  Nehemiah 5:1-13 tells us of a time when the Jews treated their own unfairly, to the point of enslaving their own children and mortgaging their property to survive.  Nehemiah, clearly upset but chooses to seek counsel, is able to face the nobles and gain their full commitment against usury and unfair socio-economic advantage over the people.

I love these verses.  I love that God expects us to treat one another with all due respect.  My challenge now is to take note of and meet social injustice around me.  I relish the chance to do so and repent of all that would hinder me in this walk!  I ask God to help me work toward unity and be rid of division.  Oppression needs to stop and the oppressors should know that God’s grace abounds.

Image

“For crying out loud, stop comparing and start living! And you’ll be happier with your life, I guarantee. This is crucial: the most difficult thing in the world is to be who you are not. Pretending and trying to be someone else is the official pastime of the human race. And the easiest thing in the world is to be yourself. Be happy. Live! It is within reason that God made you tall or short or fat or thin or bumpy all over. Love who you are!”
Bo Sanchez, You Have The Power to Create Love: Take Another Step on the Simple Path to Happiness

