Shifting Perspective


5668624-woman-praying

Zig Ziglar once said, ‘You clearly understand that failure is an event, not a person; that yesterday ended last night, and today is a brand-new day.’

I cannot tell you how much relief and joy this quote gives me.  It gives me the chance to forgive others (and myself) and move on with my life.  At the root of this perspective is the assumption that God holds me (and us) in condemnation.  I may be a work in progress but God is not preoccupied with fixing me.  He works with me, from the place of the positive, to change my perspective by equipping me with the right attitude and altitude, to complete this journey.

So why do I slide back into my negative cycle of habit?  Letting the world in, to shape (and shoot), you will do that.  We are partly a product of our environment but which environment are we preparing for?  If I am a citizen of heaven, as I do believe I am, then I clearly need to change my perspective.  Unfortunately, the soldiering in that quarter of my life does not work too well.  I am a creature of habit, that needs love, time and understanding, as I falter my way through change, like shifting sands.

Fortunately, God’s love for us exceeds a big stick attitude toward us.  Some, like me, would have ceased to exist otherwise.  We fail, we fall, we arise and quickly forget what happened yesterday.  The rest?  They remember every detail, including the angle of the sun’s rays, as they recall their failures and ‘dismal’ performance.  This cannot be healthy.  What would God have me do?

Acts 13:38

Let it be known to you therefore, brothers, that through this man forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you.

13702699-silhouette-of-female-muslim-praying-in-mosque-during-sunset-time

