Fearful? Who Me?


Proverbs 29:25

The fear of man lays a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is safe.

Luke 12:4

Have No Fear

“I tell you, my friends, do not fear those who kill the body, and after that have nothing more that they can do.

“Onions have layers and so do I!”  We are all complicated beings and so am I.  We have personality challenges such as fear failure, guilt and shame, that both shape and motivate us.  We are a product of our environment and beliefs on one level and so many things on others.  Why does fear stand out?  What are you afraid of?

I would write about the things I fear, but that would take a while.  Raised in a culture that uses shame to keep up our social mores, fear became that horrible constant companion. Then Jesus came into my life and introduced Himself at age eight.  I longed to hear His voice everyday.  I chose obedience ad delving into the Bible and this affected my life with incredible joy and security. Nothing has ever come close and nothing ever will.

Image

As we mature into teenagers and young adults, the battle of the mind becomes a harsh reality.  Peer pressure pulls one way, global trends another:  and then there is God.  What does God want for you?  What do you want?   close are you to  goal?  What needs to change? One word – fear.

We cannot change fear but we can choose to respond instead of reacting. Fear takes a firm grip, steals into the heart, taking over the mind and steering us over the edge of reason.  God is simply amazing and tells us in Psalms 46: 10,

“Be still, and know that I am God.

I will be exalted among the nations,

I will be exalted in the earth!”

We are reactionary by nature and it has taken me a long time to my relationship with Jesus impacted my life beyond my personal capability or drive.  It really is a blessing.  Once again, I choose obedience and the joy of being faithful to this very special relationship with my Saviour and King!  The best part?

Joshua 1:9

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Image

Go out in the freedom that comes with salGod’s free gidt of salvation – that is the only way to slayour fear! Come on, dive right in!

