Fearless for God


 

Our car broke down the other day, so my husband and I shared our frustrations with public transport and taxis in our city.  No fun, no joy, as the garage called us to say it would cost us quite a bit!  In true fashion, I settled down to my usual daydreams….  I can now see myself on this powerful motorbike.  I  settled on a Harley.  The joy of the open road, speed and getting through the traffic gets me all warm and fuzzy, apart from the odd butterfly.  In East Africa, women in their forties have more pressing matters.  We just don’t think about motorbikes – that would be ‘embarrassing‘.

4990294-a-beautiful-studio-shot-of-a-yellow-harley-davidson (1)

Well, it is different with me.  I have no time for the shame and blame thing that I often see, followed by familial disapproval and societal pressure to confirm.    I shared my thoughts with my husband and told him, ‘you can now for the red two-door Mini plus a Land Rover! I’m in on the bike thing.’  Poor dear man, he smiled and said, ‘Cool!’  So bike it is!  If I come whizzing past, don’t bother waving – I won’t see you coming.  Or going!  Or should I say, I won’t see you there, stationary in Nairobi’s peculiar traffic!  Nope, I will be revving up, flying past and cornering gently, with a wide grin under my helmet!  If only….

10771205-an-american-road-sign-with-sky-background-and-copy-space-for-your-message-your-future-and-past

Another daydream and I thought, wouldn’t it be nice to be fearless for God, just as Bikers are?  I desperately want the fearless fun of hammering the enemy out of our lives and into a tight fix.  So I started with small, frequent, bullet-point prayers… Yup, I know… this kind of prayer from an aspiring Biker woman?!  Funny huh?

One of my favourite Bible passages is Joshua 1:9 – ” Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Romans 12:12 – ” Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”

Acts 1:8 – But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

I want to be fearless and get that motorbike.  That in itself serves no purpose if I have no spiritual strength of fearlessness.  I am chasing God’s boldness and confidence.  I have never been an extreme sports fan but I could in the future!  Lisa and Joh Bevere are such an inspiration for those of us chasing boldness.  God’s Word completes the picture and reinvigorates me to this end, every time.  So come on let’s ride on!10600738-motorcycle-on-a-white-background

 

 

