I’d Rather Be…


Image

How many times have I had the thought – ‘I would rather be…’ run through in my head?  There are times in life when we find ourselves in places doing things that are outside our comfort zone.  Things get uncomfortable, turn tough and even feel rough only for a season.  Pain seems to carry extra memory brain cells, so that we remember the tough times as we focus on our pain.

Self-doubt, confusion and some delusion invade our thought process, taking us away from the comfort of God’s joy and purpose.  We start to fret and eventually panic.  Fear comes at us full-force, like a herd of stampeding elephants.  David Shepherd’s painting of stampeding elephants is one of my favourites.  Looking at the painting as a child, I feared the stampeding elephants and imagined myself alone, trapped in their path, taking in all the dust and straining to watch out for them, as they run toward me.  Now that I think of it, the elephants are just as fearful as I am and the artist captures the dual fear in a very realistic fashion.  There is more on  David Shepherd and his art and support for wildlife  at: http://www.davidshepherd.org/

davidshepherd-elephantsatamboseli

It has been a tough few days.  I would rather be strong and healthy, spending my days churning out stories and books.  Artists like David Shepherd remind me that as long as you take time to follow your passion, then anything is possible.  What is your passion?  What passion has God placed in you?  What would you rather do?

Matthew 24:25

8 thoughts on “I’d Rather Be…

  1. HI, I HAVE A FRAMED PRINT OF THE “David Shepherd’s painting of stampeding elephants” , IT’s BEAUTIFUL, IT’S HUNG ON MY GRAND PARENTS LIVING ROOM WALL FOR MANY YEARS & THEN IT’S BEEN WITH MY MOM FOR MANY YEARS & NOW WE HAVE GIVEN IT TO A FRIEND. BUT I’m ENTHRAWLED WITH ELEPHANTS & HAVE TRIED GOOGLE FOR THE STORY/HISTORY BEHIND THIS PICTURE & JUST CANNOT FIND ANYTHING. SO, I KINDLY ASKING, WHEN YOU HAVE TIME, PLEASE CAN YOU MAYBE TELL ME SOME HISTORY ABOUT THIS PICTURE, WHAT INSPIRED IT.

    • Hello Dominique,

      David Shepherd is a British artist who travelled and lived in Kenya. As he travelled though our various national parks and reserves in the 1970s and 80s, he was affected by the extent of poaching and became a wildlife conservationist.
      A former colleague at one of the wildlife charities he supports told me that he painted the charging elephants after a personal encounter with them, in the company of friends. He was deeply impacted at the way in which the elephants defended their territory and their young, even though they did stop their charge! So he decided to capture that event on canvas!
      More on David Shepherd: http://www.davidshepherd.org/way/

Comments are closed.