Pebbles and bullies!


13060551-group-of-twelve-dogs-sitting-in-front-of-a-white-backgroundOpen with theme song – “Who let the dogs out!”

What a week and it is only Tuesday.  It feels as if I woke up to find the school bully leaning over me.  Instant nausea, feelings of vulnerability and violated space!  Ugh!  I could scream!  No reprieve and as the English say, ‘No rest for the wicked!’  Who me?  Apparently crazy is in – like a bad rash.

I’m not laughing and too tired to care, I just want to start my day and get things done.  Time to win and ignore the barking dogs.  If only sleep would come to them, as winter sets into my Land of Cool Waters, then they can hibernate!  No such luck!  Like dialling a wrong number.

x16693837

My personal plan to scratch Goliath’s eyes out are no art of war. So I look to David’s example and pick the appointed pebble – God’s Word and prepare for war:

“All those here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves; for the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.” (1 Samuel 17:47, NIV).

And as I run at this enemy, his shadow towering over me, cooling down the temperatures and brings on a change of weather.  I mutter under my breath,

“And may the Lord avenge the wrongs you have done to me, but my hand will not touch you. As the old saying goes, ‘From evildoers come evil deeds, so my hand will not touch you.’ “(1 Samuel 24:12-13, NIV)

Calm restored and the battle won with the least effort.  It’s all ‘Sprezzatura’ – seemingly effortless!  I can squeal in sheer delight!

