He sings over me?


Zephaniah 3:17
The Lord your God is in your midst,
a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.

10671440-music-notes-on-blue-backgroundEver since I was young, I heard different people tell and remind us that God loves us so much that He sings over us, every day, hour and minute!  It still sounds far-fetched and seems unreal now!  I do confess I read the Bible over and over but never could keep the exact placing of the verse.  How quickly we forget the good and hold onto the bad!

10418725-still-life-illustration-with-sunflowers-and-antique-black-telephone-in-oil-painting-style

I came across this verse once more, during a quiet moment earlier in the week and keep celebrating its meaning and gravity.  Coming to terms with the way God sees and thinks of me is a joy and a blessing.  It is also a huge challenge.  Why?  I went through a rough couple of months, with God shifting the furniture and moving me out of my comfort zone.  I would get home and find the dining table is out on the patio and begin to whine – who eats their dinner out in the dark?  As an interior design enthusiast, this is one of my ideals, but when things shift outside my timing, I whine. Hmm?! Go figure!13989873-old-red-telephone-box-london-england

It is like God calling me to keep our relationship warm and close, then once I answer, I get distracted and head elsewhere to play with the next new shiny toy.  How awful…but it got me thinking.  What if I keep God first in my life?  In everything.  This week, the shiny toys all went missing.  No comfort here!  So I sought Him, crying out, as deadlines loomed and nearly everything came to crisis point.  Our family prayed standing, sitting, resting, eating and interrupted sleep for prayer.  When the answers came, just as our tethers were about to break, we realized God must come first in everything.  Not just occasionally but all the time.k7960259

God does not need technology or even a phone booth to get in touch with us.  He stands with us, surrounding us, with Jesus interceding for us 24-7-365! God requires our personal attention, interest, commitment, obedience and love.  God sings over us, celebrating our personality and expressing His love for us.  As long as we obey, our relationship grows stronger and better. I am off to call home and hear what God has to say about my life and my family’s future.  What are you going to choose?  Whom are you going to listen to?

12507508-music-background-with-speaker

3 thoughts on “He sings over me?

  1. Pingback: Where Is God in the Midst of All My Troubles? | Bummyla

    • Psalm 139:5 – You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me.
      God know us and dwells around us and within us (if you are a follower of Christ).

Comments are closed.