Mary’s Song


01_Mary_Angel_JPEG_1024

Luke 1:46-56

46 And Mary said,

“My soul magnifies the Lord,

47 and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,

48 for he has looked on the humble estate of his servant.

For behold, from now on all generations will call me blessed;

49 for he who is mighty has done great things for me,

and holy is his name.

50 And his mercy is for those who fear him

from generation to generation.

51 He has shown strength with his arm;

he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts;

52 he has brought down the mighty from their thrones

and exalted those of humble estate;

53 he has filled the hungry with good things,

and the rich he has sent away empty.

54 He has helped his servant Israel,

in remembrance of his mercy,

55 as he spoke to our fathers,

to Abraham and to his offspring forever.”

56 And Mary remained with her about three months and returned to her home.

One thing that strikes me is that Mary worships in the face of trouble.  At twelve to sixteen years of age, pregnant and betrothed to a man that is not the father of her precious child and Saviour.  She sees things as God sees them – dealing with what matters and ignoring the semantics.  This is powerful stuff and unsettling in a world that worships money, things and self-made plans.

07_Mary_Angel_JPEG_1024

A few years ago, some neighbours moved into our compound.  Both husband and wife are missionaries.  In one of our early conversations, she revealed their family philosophy – to live by faith in God for all things.  Naturally, I found this rather disturbing.  The fact is, the way I know and love the Lord tells me that I too need to live by faith.

When we are down to nothing, then we have something, our faith. Our faith is everything because it is the beginning of the reality of our Lord and God in our lives.  We make room for God to act and transform our very existence and give up belief trust and hope in our own strength and the dependence on others. I am learning to love these times.  Money has lost its allure.  I care less and less about what it does for me and I lean more on where God is taking me.  This is a new adventure and about time too!

Trust me, I could not make the same choices as Mary.  I am nowhere near that place.  But I am learning to love and trust God in His ways more clearly.  He reveals more of what I need to focus on every day.  And so I take baby-steps and walks uncertainly.  Each day comes with new challenges and tests.  Every day I fall and get back up.  Trusting is never easy.  How can I not trust the God who made this and all universes you ask!

Here is today’s take-away:

What have you put your faith in?  Why does that matter?  Where is your life-focus?  Why?

02_Mary_Angel_JPEG_1024

