Words and more


bless the lord fb cover

Proverbs 18:21 ESV

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.

Ephesians 4:29 ESV

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

Colossians 3:8 ESV

But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth.

Words mean a great deal to me.  Imagine my surprise when I realized they matter to God more than they do us.  Our words matter all the time, especially as we endure or struggle with tough times.  This really hit me over the weekend, as I struggled to organize a very simple event and quickly realized it communication declined to Babel’s standards!  I laugh now but at one point, I got really frustrated and had to bite my tongue several times an hour.  It felt like I turned up for a lovely lecture and found a serious test waiting!

God’s grace is always sufficient to overflowing, if I am brutally honest.  All of us came out unscathed and my tongue still in check, so I can venture a giggle about it now.  In the heat of the moment, it was a test.  A good friend reminds me, there is no testimony without a test.  I stand corrected, smiling and surprisingly victorious because God by His gracious spirit already did it for me.  He carried me through once I put Him first!

Are you watching your words?  Why?  If not, why not?

One thought on “Words and more

Comments are closed.