Talk is cheap


sandpaper

Sandpaper.  Not a favourite subject and neither are the people!  More days with sandpaper folks this week.  God has stirred me up to dealing with them – one liners that are sweet but kill the conversation!  I feel like a powerful warrior woman climbing a hill with a massive iron-sword strapped across my back, curls flailing in the wind, sun at my face and the petty people down below, staring in utter disbelief!  Boudica has nothing on me at this point, clearly.

female-warrior-12797855

As a child, I had two grown men humiliate and hurt with words every time there was a function.  The verbal abuse crushed my spirit and I cared little then, and less now!  Our culture across the continent is shame-based, as it is in the Middle East and much of Asia.  Trouble with that is, shame is a spirit and many have no idea.  It grabs a hold of people, crushes and crumbles them.  It’s companion is fear.  Another, is humiliation.

I have since learned that talk is cheap.  There is one source of information that never falls below the mark – the Word of God.

Genesis 1:27 ESV

So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.

1 Peter 2:9 ESV

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.

Galatians 3:27-29 ESV

For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. And if you are Christ’s, then you are Abraham’s offspring, heirs according to promise.

Ephesians 2:19 ESV

So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God,

gagged lady

So next time someone speaks unnecessary words into your life – you know what mirror they hold up to themselves.  They see a reflection and they are not standing alongside you!  It’s just not going to happen unless you allow it!  When I see them coming, I ask the Holy Spirit to take control of the situation.  He has not let me down yet and there is so much more of life to come.  Thank you Jesus!  Rock climbed and mountain conquered and there is still more…

